revgrape

About 20 years ago, this pie won a ribbon at a large pie contest at the Hamilton County Fair (Cincinnati, Ohio).  This was when we lived on a couple of acres in a rural area and I had large 5-gallon buckets of Concord grapes setting all over my kitchen.  I made as much jam and jelly as I needed, then made this pie.  If there were still grapes left, I would make the filling and put it in the freezer for later use.  Eventually, the grapes were wiped out by some disease and ever since I’ve searched the produce aisles and farm markets of the area for Concord grapes, with no luck.  Last week, I was amazed to see plastic containers of these wonderful grapes in my grocery store.  I couldn’t wait to make another pie for our Sunday dinner.

My best memory of this pie is taking it to a large square dance federation potluck dinner party where normally the buffet line led through the entrees, salads, etc., and then after eating the meal, the guests would go to the dessert table.  In this case, 8 men went directly to the dessert table and cleaned out the grape pie.

STREUSEL CONCORD GRAPE PIE


Unbaked 9″ pie shell

4-1/2 cups Concord grapes

1 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup flour

2 tsp. lemon juice

1/8 tsp. salt

Oat Streusel:  Combine 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup flour.  Cut in 1/4 cup butter to distribute evenly.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Wash grapes and remove skins by pinching at end opposite stem.  Place pulp in a small saucepan and bring to a boil; cook several minutes until pulp is soft.  Put through strainer or food mill while pulp is hot to remove seeds.

Mix strained pulp with skins.  Stir in sugar, flour, lemon juice and salt.  Place grape mixture in pastry-lined 9″ pie pan.  Sprinkle on Oat Streusel.  Place on large flat pan or cookie sheet to catch spills.  Bake @ 375 degrees F for approximately 45 minutes.  Cool on rack.

Note:  Removing the skins from the grapes takes about 15 minutes but is not difficult or overly messy.  A word of caution – if you don’t have a food mill, removing the seeds with a strainer is labor-intensive.  It’s worth all the work to me – the flavor of the grapes is unbelievable.