piano.jpg

As soon as the leftover turkey is in the refrigerator and the big graniteware roaster is washed and stored away for another year, I begin setting up my Christmas village.   The village is the most time-consuming decorating I do (except maybe for the tree which my two youngest grandchildren always set up for me).  My first illuminated house, an early Department 56 model, was a gift from my oldest daughter and youngest son.

orig.jpg

It has been joined over the years by a church (handpainted by my oldest daughter), and school.

church.jpg

school.jpg

Three Department 56 pieces commemorate visits to Germany, Austria and England.

bakerbier.jpg

wells.jpg

There’s a “Wonderful Life” train station and a “Christmas Story” Higbee’s Department Store.

station.jpg

higbee.jpg

There’s a barndance barn with musicians and dancers to honor all the years my husband and I enjoyed square dancing plus a farm barn with all kinds of animals to remember the years we lived in the country.

barndance.jpg

barn.jpg

There’s a miller’s house, a windmill and a lighthouse…..

miller.jpg

mill.jpg

litehouse.jpg

There’s a 30s style movie theatre and garage….

theatergar.jpg

an antique store, a bank, a large house, a toy store, a JoAnn’s shop, and a gift store.

antgar.jpg

 

bankhouse.jpg

2bldg.jpg

giftshop.jpg

And, of course, there are countless small figures of people, animals, telegraph poles, clocks, etc., and all the lighting to put in place.   This all started out just taking up the top of the piano but now it’s spread out over five different surfaces and I love it when everything is set up and all the lights are turned on.  Now, it’s really time for the Christmas season to start.