I’m looking forward to enjoying Mother’s Day with my two daughters and two grandchildren, and expecting phone calls from my two sons.   I’m so lucky that I was able to celebrate many Mother’s Days with my own mother and her mother …..

 

…and my father’s mother, Grandma-up-Dayton.

I wasn’t able to know my great-grandmothers, but I’m fortunate to have pictures, history and stories on three of them.  Minerva Alice is shown here with my Grandma Helen…..

I have a picture of Great-Grandma Emily, ca 1869…

…and Granny when she was in her 80s.

As I enjoy the day with my own children and grandchildren, I think about the women who came before me and especially the teenage girl who had me in the middle of the Depression and was an amazing mother and grandmother for the rest of her life.

Happy Mother’s Day, everyone, and happy memories.