For Mother’s Day, I received Eleanor Burns’ new Quilt-in-a-Day book, Victory Quilts – 1940s Sampler Quilts.  This is a great book with World War II memories and pictures, 1940s era blocks, and Eleanor’s very complete instructions.  I’m making all of the 20 blocks in the book with the thought of eventually putting them together as a sampler quilt for a queen sized bed.  Because the quilt will be subjected to small children and a dog, I’m making the background black, something unusual for me.  I’ll be posting each of the blocks as I finish them.

The first block, Mr. Roosevelt’s Necktie, is rated as an “easy skill level” block.  There are directions for a 12″ and a 6″ block.  The book suggests getting Quilt-in-a-Day 6-1/2″ Triangle and 9-1/2″ Square Up Rulers.   I don’t have the rulers and didn’t have any trouble with the block, but for beginners, I would advise investing in the rulers and making the job even easier. 

See other quilt blocks from this book as I finish them in my Quilt Blocks category.