img_0034My favorite vacation destination and my favorite place for buying quilting items is the Amish country of Holmes County, Ohio.

I bought this pattern a couple of years ago at one of the area’s many quilting shops and thought it would make a nice Thanksgiving wall hanging.

gkitchenThe pattern#97010 is called Grandma’s Kitchen by Pine Meadows Designs, Connie D. Roys, 975 Hickory Grove, Medina, OH 44256. It’s all done in fusible applique with invisible zigzag stitching.  I changed the views a little bit to personalize the piece.  It’s not difficult to make up your own applique pieces.  I added a potholder and calendar, a pumpkin pie with cream and some pumpkin cutouts, printed out the actual recipe for my pumpkin pie to go in the cookbook, etc.

fullhng

It was a fun piece to do and makes a nice holiday wall hanging – another happy reminder of time spent in Holmes County!