carol31

Last Saturday evening at about 8:30 PM, my oldest daughter and I were watching Christmas Vacation on television when I heard my doorbell ring.  It’s very unusual for anyone to come to my door after dark, so I went cautiously to open it and before me stood my youngest daughter with her two children, singing at the top of their lungs.  First they sang a song for their aunt which consistently irritates her, I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas,  and then gave a very solemn rendition of Hark the Herald Angels Sing.   Granddaughter kept her eyes on her self-made carol book.   She knows the hippo  song all too well but has to follow her brother’s lead on the carol.

I gave each of the kids a small bag of candy and they headed back home where they planned to ring their own doorbell and give their Dad a surprise caroling party. 

carol4