topbwlFor many years, I tried various cobbler recipes without being completely satisfied.  Then, in 1996, I found a recipe for cobbler in one of my favorite cookbooks – The Farm Journal Pie Cookbook, and they stressed that the filling should be piping hot when the dough is spooned onto it.  I’ve made many cobblers with all kinds of fruit since then and have always been pleased with the results.

On this beautiful June Sunday morning, I was debating what to fix for dessert for myself – no company for dinner this week.  My decision was based on what I found in my refrigerator:  a recent cutting of rhubarb from my garden, a couple of Granny Smith apples, and a small amount of fresh blueberries.  I wanted to make something that would be good for dessert today but also taste good a couple of days from now – not too rich, not too much fat.  I think this cobbler made from the rhubarb and its friends in the refrigerator was just right.  It will be my dessert well into next week.

RHUBARB & FRIENDS COBBLER

Fruit Filling:

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 Tblsp. cornstarch
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1-1/2 cups rhubarb, cut in 1″ pieces
  • 2 cups tart apple,  peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1 Tblsp. butter
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg

In a medium saucepan, mix the granulated sugar, cornstarch and water.  Bring to a boil over medium heat and boil for one minute.  Remove from heat – add the rhubarb, apple slices, blueberries, butter, cinnamon and nutmeg – stirring gently to blend.  Pour this mixture into an ungreased one-quart casserole dish.

Dough:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tblsp. granulated sugar
  • 1-1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening (Crisco)
  • 1/2 cup milk

In a medium bowl, mix together the dry ingredients.  Cut in the vegetable shortening and then stir in the milk with a fork.  Drop by spoonsful onto the hot fruit filling.  Place the casserole dish on a flat pan to catch spills and bake @ 400 degrees F for about 30 minutes.

baked

Serve in bowls with cobbler juices and whipped cream/topping or ice cream.

Yield:  6 servings 

One of my Mother’s Day gifts this year was a set of vintage two-handled soup bowls.

soupbowls

I might not be making much soup this summer, but the bowl is just the right size for a serving of cobbler.

bwl