On a recent trip to Holmes County (Ohio) Amish Country, I found a panel for a Christmas wall hanging that I couldn’t resist because it reminded me of all the depression-green items I have in my kitchen.  The panel includes a Christmas countdown calendar, 24 cookie cutouts and complete instructions.  It was very easy to make with the fabric folding up and being quilted to form the pockets.  The rest of the quilting was some very simple outline stitching.  The 24 cookie cutouts are fused onto a felt backing and then trimmed.

All that needs to be added are backing, batting and binding.  I also added a label that included a scanned image of the scottie (my favorite of the 24 different cookie cutters).

The idea is to insert a cookie into each of the 24 pockets on the calendar….

…then beginning December 1, one cookie is removed each day and placed in the big green bowl at the top of the wall hanging.

The last cookie is moved on Christmas Eve – and it’s time for Santa Claus!

The piece measures 18-1/2×26-1/2″.  A rod sleeve can be sewn onto the back, but I prefer to use drapery hooks to display the wall hanging.

I googled Cookie Cutter Christmas and Wilmington Prints, and came up with several sources for buying the panel, including eBay.

Now, I’m waiting for the grandchildren and great-grandchildren to come to my house to bake Christmas cookies – and to see the new Cookie Cutter Calendar.