My youngest daughter was born in 1970 and loves all things from that era – music, art, fabric, home decor.  We were in a quilt shop and she spied this book cover showing a quilt with a 70s look, something I’ve never done in seven years of quilting.

I told her I would make it for her as a 14th wedding anniversary gift.  I bought the book, she picked out all of the fabric, and I set about making the quilt.  The instructions called for fusible web and stitching down the edges with a zigzag stitch.  In my experience, this technique has been OK for wall hangings that don’t get much wear but this quilt was going to be in a family room with two kids, two cats and a very large dog named Frank.

The quilt had to stand up to a lot.

I traced the templates from the book but used them only as a placement guide, making separate templates for the petals.  I used a technique I had learned from Eleanor Burns’ Quilt-in-a-Day TV shows and books, using non-woven interfacing.  The template is placed on the interfacing and a line drawn around it.  Allowing for 1/4″ seams, the interfacing piece is cut out along with a piece of fabric.  Having a fabric piece and an interfacing piece right sides together, the piece is machine sewn on the drawn line. Then a slit is cut in the interfacing and the piece is turned and pressed.  This gives a nice edge to the applique and it can be machine-stitched onto the background fabric.  Admittedly, with 20 separate petals for each of 16 blocks, this added extra time to the project but I think it made a much sturdier quilt.

My daughter wanted the quilt to be longer than the pattern and I added some extra borders for this.

Quilting was very simple stitch-in-the-ditch with outline stitching around the petals.  She couldn’t find a cotton backing that fit the 70s mode, so she chose bright Snoopy fleece which added extra warmth.  I scanned one piece of the background fabric so I could use it as part of the label, printed from the computer onto fabric and hand-stitched onto the back of the quilt.

I knew my son-in-law didn’t share the love of 70s stuff, so I gave him a check instead, but my daughter and her menagerie love the new quilt, especially Frank.