I was surprised to see a big sign in my grocery store – CONCORD GRAPES.  Looking at the label on the box, I saw they were from Chile, which would explain having them out-of-season for our American Concords.  I also saw the name KYOHO and when I “googled” it, found it is a “Concord-like cross between Campbell and Centennial grape varieties”, originating in Japan.  I tasted one, expecting it to be quite tart as our Concords are and found it to be fairly sweet with a slight hint of the Concord grape flavor.  I had intended to bake my favorite Concord Grape Pie and proceeded with just a couple of changes to compensate for the sweetness – a lot less sugar and a little more lemon juice.

I was happy to find out the pie tasted like my old favorite and even bubbled up in the pan in the same irritating way.

KYOHO GRAPE PIE

  • Unbaked 9″ pie shell
  • 4-1/2 cups Kyoho grapes
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

Streusel Topping

  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, cut into small cubes

Mix together the oatmeal, brown sugar and flour.  Work the butter into the oatmeal mixture until well distributed.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F

To make the filling: Wash grapes and remove skins.  Reserve skins in a large bowl.

Place the pulp and seeds in a small saucepan and bring to a boil; cook several minutes until pulp is soft.  Put through a strainer or food mill while pulp is still hot.  Discard seeds and pulp that remain in the mill/strainer.

Add the strained juice and pulp to the bowl with the reserved skins.  Stir in the sugar, flour, lemon juice and salt.

Place the filling in the pastry-lined 9″ pan.  Sprinkle on the Streusel Topping.  Place pie pan on a large flat pan or cookie sheet to catch spills.  Bake @ 375 degrees F for approximately 45 minutes.  Remove pie pan to a wire rack to cool. 

Note:  Removing the skins is not difficult – takes about 15 minutes.  A word of caution, if you don’t have a food mill, removing the seeds with a strainer is labor-intensive and takes some time.  I think it’s worth all the work – the flavor of the grapes is wonderful.

My recipe for pie-crust is here.