My youngest daughter and her husband celebrated their 15th anniversary on October 14.  As a gift from me, my daughter requested an animal print quilt to use in their family room.  She loves all things animal-print.

She went to the store with me to pick out as many different prints as possible – many of them fat quarters – plus some wild pink zebra fleece for the backing and some equally wild pink for the borders.

Because I was using so many fat quarters, I made the blocks 8-1/2 inches square with black sashing.  Pink was used for cornerstones, the border and as part of four border corner blocks.

Since the piecing was so easy, the quilt was very quick to put together.  The fleece as backing/batting required only minimal machine quilting.  My daughter asked for a special size so the quilt would fit well on their futon – it measures 54×74 inches.

The label includes a picture of my daughter and one of her favorite animal-print purses.

I like the idea of labels showing what the maker and/or recipient looked like at the time the quilt was made.  It should be fun for her kids to look at many years from now – if it lasts that long!  With two kids, two cats and a dog sharing the quilt in the family room, I may need to make another one for the 16th anniversary.