This is an easy, satisfying dish that I first put together a few years ago, using a package of flavored rice mix.  This time I used Knorr Cajun Sides Garlic Butter Rice mix, but any kind would do.

EASY BEEF, RICE AND BEANS

  • 5-6 oz package of flavored rice mix
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 lb. round or chuck steak, baked, cut into cubes*
  • 1/2 cup hominy, drained
  • 1/2 cup black beans, drained
  • 1/2 cup diced tomatoes with juice
  • Grating of black pepper
  • 1-1/2 tsp ground cumin

In a large skillet, cook the rice mix and water, bringing to a boil.  Lower heat, cover and simmer from 5-7 minutes according to package directions until rice is tender.

*I had baked the chuck/round steak earlier in the day, covered, for about 2 hours in a 300 degree oven. I used half of the cooked beef in this dish and put the remainder in the freezer for another night’s supper.

Add remaining ingredients, mixing well, and let simmer for 20 minutes until everything is piping hot.

Yield:  4 servings 

I have a note in my recipe binder:  “2/18/03 – very good – David (my husband) took seconds.”

For dessert, I fixed an old favorite – Grandma Martha’s Banana Pudding.

It was a nice weekday supper.