My two daughters and I always exchange gifts on December 6, to celebrate St. Nicholas.  My youngest daughter gives me a new calendar, made up of photographs of her two kids from the previous year.

I’m always so anxious to see what cute pictures will be hanging on my wall in the new year.

I’m also always anxious to get her special food gift, her blue ribbon Lemon Pound Cake.  This cake is so unbelievably good with a velvet texture and crispy, sugary crust.  We find that it’s perfect without any kind of glaze.

My daughter doesn’t care to cook but she did win a blue ribbon at the Hamilton County (Cincinnati) Fair with this cake.  When I e-mailed her today after enjoying a slice of her Lemon Pound Cake, saying that she doesn’t realize that not every cook, regardless of interest, can produce such a cake, she replied:  “If you say so.  All I did was mix the ingredients and put ’em in a pan and try to get my kids not to run through the room like elephants (which was the hardest part).”

This is a wonderful cake.

SHANNON'S LEMON POUND CAKE

  • 2 sticks (1/2 pound) butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 3-1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 cups cake flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 tsp. lemon extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Grease and flour one 10-inch tube pan or 3 loaf or small tube pans.

Cream butter, shortening and sugar until fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Add flour and milk alternately, beginning and ending with flour.  Add vanilla and lemon extracts.

Bake @ 325 degrees F for 1 hour and 10 minutes for a 10-inch cake; 30-35 minutes for smaller pans.  Cakes are done when a tester inserted in the center come out clean.

My daughter always makes a small tube cake and two 9-inch loaf cakes so she can give one to me, one to her sister and keep one at home for her family.

HAPPY ST. NICK, EVERYBODY.

Click here for another good cake from my daughter.