I posted previously about the Wonder Cut Ruler and how great it is for making half-square triangles.   The block above used 16 HSTs and went together very quickly.  After spending the money, I was hoping I could do more with the ruler and on the Wonder Cut web site found instructions for making a three-part half-square triangle.

Then, I continued with their instructions for a four-part half-square triangle.

In each case, there are many ways to set the block to get a different look.

Then, I began wondering if I could incorporate the ease of the ruler with using up a lot of small scraps.  I decided to start with a bag of green scraps that go back about 8 years – I hate to throw them away.  I used every piece that was at least 1-1/2 inches wide and cut larger scraps into 1-1/2 inch wide strips.  I sorted them generally according to size.

I started strip-piecing the scraps together, using the smallest scraps first.  For a good scrappy look, I roughly cut larger strips into 2-inch pieces and joined them randomly.

I like to make one block at a time with this process, since a 20 inch length is just about right for sewing and handling.  For a 10-1/2 unfinished block, I made 4 rows of strips 20 inches long (regular ruler).  For stability, I placed a solid piece 1-1/2 inches x 20 inches between the small-scrap rows.

The four rows sewn together will measure 5-1/2 on the straight line of the Wonder Cut Ruler.

Cut two pieces of contrasting fabric 5-1/2 on the straight line of the Wonder Cut Ruler x 13 inches (regular ruler).  With right sides together, stitch a 1/4 inch seam lengthwise.  Press to dark fabric.

Using the Wonder Cut Ruler, place the 5-1/2 straight line mark along the edge and cut into 3 sections.

Join the squares together, alternating light and dark.  You will need 5 squares for a complete block.  (There will be one square left over.)

Place the joined squares and scrap section right sides together.  Sew a 1/4 inch seam down each side to form a tube.  Press.

Place the Wonder Cut triangle portion with 5-1/2 at the bottom edge of the tube, aligning the center line of the triangle with the seam of the first set of blocks, and the tip of the triangle just below the top 1/4 inch seam.  Cut the triangle.  Turn the ruler and cut the other side of the fabric, being careful to align.  Continue to cut four triangles.

Press triangles into a square which should measure 5-1/2 inches and arrange the pieces on a mat to find the setting that you want.

Stitch the top row together and then the bottom row, press.

These measurements will make a 10-1/2 unfinished block.

I decided to make another block, add some 1-1/2 inch borders and make a table mat for my vintage sewing table.

Just in time for St. Patrick’s Day.

You should have a triangle remaining at each end of the tube which you can join to make a 5-1/2 inch square.  Adding some borders, it would be easy to make this piece into a potholder, a pocket for an apron or many other small projects.

Now, I feel like I’m getting my full value from the Wonder Cut Ruler and I may think of even more things to do with it.