I’ve been making these cookies for years, adapted from a recipe in an old 1970s Redbook Cookbook.  It’s a good way to use up a little bit of jelly, jam or preserves left in the jar.

LILLIAN'S JAM BALLS

  • Servings: Approximately 3 dozen cookies
  • Print
  • 1 cup softened butter or margarine
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3-4 Tblsp. jam, jelly or preserves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Have an ungreased cookie sheet at hand

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar.  Add the salt.  Gradually add the flour, mixing well.

Shape a level tablespoon of dough into a ball.

Place balls one inch apart on the ungreased sheet.  Press each ball with the index finger, making an indentation.  Drop about 1/4 tsp. of jam, jelly or preserves into each indentation.

Bake @ 350 degrees F for 18-20 minutes until cookies are lightly browned.

Remove to a wire rack to cool.

Yield:  Approximately 3 dozen cookies

Since my daughter and I like fresh cookies and I don’t want too many around to tempt us, I like to make a dozen cookies and then divide the rest of the dough into two containers to seal and either refrigerate or freeze for another time.  I like these Lock ‘n Lock containers, available on QVC.  They really do make and keep a tight seal.

In my recipe binder I have a note:  “First made on March 18, 1984 – excellent – very short.”