Earlier, I posted about making holders for my grandmother’s doilies.  I liked the way these turned out and wanted to make a wall hanging that would serve to display two heirloom-quality crocheted and tatted pieces my oldest daughter made.  I didn’t want to damage the delicate needlework, so I made a pocket to display a doily…

and used a tatted collar to form a frame.

I used two fat quarters (18×22 each) to make the front, pocket and backing, plus a piece of low loft batting.   Coordinating binding was cut on the bias.

I scanned a photo of my daughter taken in Gettysburg in a Civil War era pose and printed it on an inkjet fabric sheet.  The picture was then appliquéd in the oval frame formed by the tatted collar.

I added a vintage buckle as a hanger and a large vintage button on the collar.

Since the collar was basted with large stitches that traveled underneath the front fabric, it will be easy to remove if necessary, and the doily is tucked into the pocket, allowing easy removal with no damage to either piece.

The piece finished at 11-½” x 16-½” oval.  This will be a nice wall hanging to display during the Sesquicentennial of the Civil War.