I’ve always loved vintage aprons, particularly the ones from the 1920s-1930s.  They are roomy, comfortable, cover a large area and don’t have strings to tie.  I’ve bought patterns in antique shops and online, but none of them was exactly what I wanted.  Recently, I noticed a vintage apron hanging in an antique store booth.  It seemed to be exactly the style I wanted.  I tried it on before leaving the store so I knew I had a good fit and bought it for $8 – less than most patterns.

I was hoping I wouldn’t have to cut it apart to get the pattern and I was lucky that there were only three pieces to cut – front, back and pocket – so I could easily trace around the apron onto tissue paper.

The apron was easy to assemble, using 2 packages of rickrack for the edges.

The original apron was of a thin white cotton fabric with narrow binding and beautiful embroidery.

I wanted a serviceable apron to wear to cook and clean up, and chose some remnant pieces that would stand up well in the kitchen.,

The only changes I made were to shorten the apron, make the neckline round, and to make a bigger pocket.

For $8, I still have a beautiful vintage apron to wear on special occasions and I have a very sturdy clone to put on tonight when I get ready to cook supper.