I wanted to make a wall hanging for my youngest daughter that would incorporate photos that were taken of the family in Civil War era clothes.  I chose a Sawtooth Star pattern from my EQ6 software to showcase the photographs as well as some fussy-cuts from some wonderful Marcus Fabrics Civil War Tribute Collection – 150 Anniversary.

The photographs were scanned and then printed on June Tailor Sew-In Colorfast Fabric Sheets.

There was a great center photograph of my two grandchildren ….

…pictures of my youngest daughter and her husband…

…and of my oldest daughter – all taken in Gettysburg.

The picture in the lower right hand corner was taken of me in 1952 when I was living in Portsmouth, Virginia, as a 20-year-old newlywed with my sailor husband.  It was Portsmouth’s Bicentennial year and they wanted a picture to put in our P&G monthly magazine.  Several people brought in authentic Civil War era clothes for the photo shoot.  I’m sure I was the last person they wanted in the picture since I was a Yankee and a very new employee, but I was the only one at 105 pounds who could fit into the beautiful heirloom dress.

The fussy-cuts made up the rest of the blocks…

The finished piece measured 30 x 30 inches.