One of my favorite dishes growing up was my mother’s chocolate pudding.  Along with her rice pudding, it became a life saver for me when I was sick or pregnant or sick and pregnant.  I could eat it when nothing else agreed with me.  It’s a very simple recipe and so much better than the little cups in the grocery store.  The main thing is to keep whisking until it’s done to a chocolatey brown smoothness.

MOTHER'S CHOCOLATE PUDDING

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup undiluted evaporated milk
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 Tblsp. butter

In a medium saucepan, place the granulated sugar, cornstarch, egg and salt.  Whisk together and gradually add the evaporated milk.

In a separate small bowl, mix together the cocoa powder and 1 cup of hot water until cocoa is dissolved.  Add to the egg mixture, blending well.  Cook over medium heat, whisking constantly until mixture begins to bubble.  Continue to cook for another two minutes, whisking constantly.

Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and butter.  Pour into 4 dessert dishes and allow to cool.  Pudding may be refrigerated but I like it best at room temperature.

Yield:  4 servings