On September 6, Imperamagna announced a quilt-along using the Jacob’s Ladder block.  On her blog she has a link to Bonnie Hunter’s measurements and tutorial.

http://imperamagna.blogspot.com/2011/09/jacobs-ladder-qal-info.html

I liked the idea of making the size and number of blocks you wanted into the project you wanted and in any time frame you chose.  I gathered three fabrics I thought would work well for a sofa topper.

I planned on the blocks being 9 inches finished and made a sample block.

The quilt-along began on September 28 and meanwhile I had received a gift of a 12×15 inch quilt rack.

Since I’ve only made one miniature quilt, I decided to change my plans and have this project be a 12×15 inch quilt with little 2-1/4 inch finished Jacob’s Ladder blocks.

The tiny blocks take longer to sew, especially with pressing all of the seams open to control bulk, but I think they will make an interesting quilt for my new rack.

The quilt-along is still in its first week and it’s an interesting block, so you might want to visit Imperamagna’s blog and see what’s going on.  There is also a Flickr group formed to keep up with what everybody’s doing.