This recipe is adapted from one in a 1983 Bisquick folder, No Time to Cook.  I first made the dish in May of 1989 when my Mother came to my house for lunch.  She liked it very much – very creamy.  I’ve made it many times since then and when reduced fat ingredients are used, it’s nice light diet lunch.

IMPOSSIBLE BRUNCH PIE WITH VEGETABLES

  • 1-½ cups steamed vegetables (I used broccoli and carrots)
  • 1 cup light dairy sour cream
  • 1 cup low-fat creamed cottage cheese
  • ½ cup Bisquick
  • ¼ cup melted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tomato, peeled and thinly sliced
  • ¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Grease or spray a 9-inch pie pan.  I used a favorite pie pan that my mother got in exchange for Wilson milk labels and had my toddler children give to me for Christmas in 1956.

Spread the steamed vegetables in the pie pan.

Beat sour cream, cottage cheese, Bisquick, butter and eggs until smooth – 15 seconds in a blender or 1 minute with a whisk or hand beater.  Pour this mixture on top of the vegetables.

Top with tomatoes (I used some of my home-grown cherry tomatoes, halved), and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Bake for about 30 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center of the pan comes out clean .  Cool for 5 minutes.

Cut into wedges to serve.  6 servings. 

According to my DietPower software, based on 6 servings the count is:  194 calories, 9.2 g fat, 15.6 g carb, 1.3 g fiber, 12.2 g protein.

Weight Watchers – 5 Points/Plus