Back in the late 1980s when I was entering a lot of county and state fair contests, I subscribed to a publication called Blue Ribbon Gazette.  This was a collection of recipes submitted by prize winners from all over the country.  I found this recipe and made it for Christmas in 1988.  In my binder, I have a notation:  “Excellent – buttery and chewy.”

These are easy cookies to make – the dough and the meringue both handle nicely.

MT. SHASTA COOKIES

  • Servings: Approx. 60
  • Print

Cookie Dough:
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
¾ tsp salt
½ cup softened margarine (used Imperial)
½ cup light brown sugar
1 egg yolk
1 tsp vanilla
3 Tblsp. milk
1 cup chopped nuts

Topping:
1 egg white
½ cup granulated sugar
1 cup flaked coconut

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly grease cookie sheets.

  • Separate egg and set aside.  In a medium bowl, mix together flour and salt.

  • Cream margarine, brown sugar, egg yolk, vanilla and milk.  Add flour mixture, mix well.  Stir in nuts.

  • In a small bowl, whisk egg white until just frothy.  Stir in  ½ cup granulated sugar and 1 cup coconut.

  • Put about 1 tsp dough on lightly greased cookie sheet.

  • Flatten cookie dough with heel of hand to about 1-½ inches diameter.  Leave about 1 inch between each cookie.  Put about ½ tsp of meringue on top of each cookie.

  • Bake 6-1/2 to 7 minutes @ 350 degrees F until cookies are lightly browned on bottom and meringue is just beginning to brown.

  • Cool on a wire rack.  I always leave a few cookies without the topping for those who don’t like coconut

.

Yield:  About 60 1-½ inch cookies. 


Update:  I received this comment from a reader:  “My sisster, Linda McCready ne Yungling, created the name and recipe for Mt. Shasta cookies and won first prize for her Mt. Shasta recipe (a trip to Chicago for her and our mother) in a Parade Magazine contest in 1958 or 1959.  She deserves recognition and credit for that creation.”  I agree – it’s a wonderful cookie.

Update 12/25/2012 – I received this message from Linda McCready:

Hello Lillian.

I am Linda McCready, and in 1958 I created the recipe for “Mt. Shasta Cookies”. I was the primary baker for my family of 10, and was constantly trying to come up with something different. This recipe began as a standard shortbread made with brown sugar and chopped walnuts. I love macaroons, so decided to try topping the cookies with macaroon mix. The result was such a huge hit that I spent many of my free hours making more and more … and more. The local newspaper carried Family Weekly magazine on Sundays, and one week they had a notice of a recipe contest for teenagers. I sent in the recipe and promptly forgot about it. Early in December of 1958 a man knocked on our door, introduced himself as a reporter for the Sacramento Union, and announced I had won the grand prize. My prize was a week-long stay in Chicago, over Christmas holidays, a slew of events such as plays, ballet, Ice Capades, museums etc. etc, and finally a gala luncheon with representatives of the food companies who advertised in Family Weekly. An amazing experience for a 15-year-old. Now I am 70, and still remember it clearly.
I am glad my recipe is still being used, and appreciate your sharing it with others.
Linda

Linda 1959 Newsp Class