I have received a couple of e-mails regarding printing the label that Barbara has provided for the Civil War Quilt.  This is how I did it:

  • Use the cursor to drag the picture to the size you want it.
  • Print the picture onto printer fabric – I use June Tailor Sew-In Colorfast Fabric Sheets for Ink Jet Printers.  I use a high quality picture setting for plain paper.  Be sure to leave a seam allowance around the picture.
  • Use a permanent marker to fill in the information on the label.  I have a software program that allows me to type the information rather than handwriting it

  • Press to set colors and then wash label according to manufacturer’s directions.  Dry.
  • Since the printer fabric is difficult to hand-sew, I make a border with enough fabric to turn under 1/4 inch and hand-stitch to the back of the quilt.

  • I plan to make my label into a pocket big enough to accommodate a 4×6 laminated card which will include the names of all of the blocks row-by-row.