Today is my oldest daughter’s birthday and this mini-quilt table topper is my greeting card to her.  As the center,  I scanned a favorite picture of her when she was 4 years old and printed it on June  Tailor Sew-In Colorfast Fabric Sheets for Ink Jet Printers.  I like to use 1 inch strips of fabric to make 3-1/2 inch log cabin blocks to form a frame around the center.  I usually make these blocks of scraps, but this time I chose fat quarters in white and two shades of blue.

I did a very simple, fused applique in the border.

The label is in the form of a pocket so I can print out this post and place it there for future reference.

After over 50 years, I can still remember the fabric in this dress so well.  I look down at my lap and can see it there as I’m hand-stitching the finishing touches.  It’s a pale aqua cotton with white flocking, a bit of a splurge at the time.

She had her requisite white gloves and black patent leather shoes to accessorize the dress on Easter and again on her birthday.  It appears she also chose to wear her crucifix and charm bracelet for this special occasion.  (Click on photo to enlarge.)

It has been so much fun celebrating her birthday for 58 years.