I had stitched up some curtain panels with a cute beach/surfing theme for my youngest daughter’s family room …

…and she thought it would be nice to use the scraps of fabric along with pictures of her kids on beach vacations to make a wall hanging.

I picked up a bunch of fat quarters with a tropical or beach theme and made up a 30×30 inch wall hanging for her.  My oldest daughter is expert at enhancing photos so I had some beautifully clear pictures printed on fabric to work with.  These are two of my favorites.

I fussy-cut the fabric to take advantage of the cute station wagon, surfboard, and ukulele designs and assembled everything with very simple sashing.

The piece without borders was just the right size for the space my daughter had reserved, so I just used a binding of 6 inch strips of all of the fat quarter fabrics which gave the piece a playful look.

The backing is made entirely of scraps.

The wall hanging is perfect in my daughter’s family room which includes some other cute  “beachy” decorations….

…plus an autographed program from a recent Cincinnati Beach Boys concert.

Click on photos to enlarge.