On July 13, 2012, my two daughters surprised me with a big box of wrapped gifts, informing me it was exactly 80 days until my 80th birthday and I would be able to unwrap one gift a day.  The gift items would commemorate a year in my life in some way.  This is what I received this week.

1968 – A double CD set of favorite songs from 1960s.



1969 – My oldest daughter put together a booklet of clippings from her 1969 scrapbook.  There was quite a bit about Neil Armstrong and the moon landing.


1970 – This is something of a tongue-in-cheek gift – a David Cassidy/Partridge Family trading card.  Although I was never much of a fan, my daughter who was born in 1970 is and was delighted to find this gift for me.  The lyrics to the song are on the back of the card.


1971 – A Gordon Lightfoot songbook.  This is perfect for me since Gordon Lightfoot is my all-time favorite singer.

1972 – A 1972 edition of Sport Story with Pete Rose on the cover.  No one lived in Cincinnati in this era who didn’t know Cincinnati Reds star Pete Rose.


1973 – The book Secretariat.  Secretariat was the Triple Crown Winner in 1973.


1974 – My youngest daughter knitted a pair of mittens in the classic colors of the 1970s from a vintage pattern.

All of my posts on this wonderful celebration are listed in Family – My 80th Birthday in my index on the right hand side of the page.