An Anniversary Table Topper


I wanted to make a table topper for my youngest daughter’s 17th wedding anniversary.  Over the past 17 years, I’ve used the picture of the bride and groom many times.  This time, I wanted to use just the picture of the bride and found the perfect block on crafty.com – an Inverted Star.

This block in a 12-inch size gave me the large center portion to insert a picture of my daughter as a bride printed on  June Tailor Sew-In Colorfast Fabric Sheets.


For the four center blocks I wanted to use a picture of her bouquet and my oldest daughter was able to place the bouquet on a doily and maroon background  to give the flowers the right design elements.  She worked with both pictures to make them perfect for this piece.


I used my daughter’s wedding colors of white and burgundy in this topper and quilted with simple machine stitching.   I had made the dresses for the wedding for the bride, the maid of honor (my oldest daughter) and for me as the mother of the bride. The label includes the remaining small scraps of fabric from each of our dresses.

I was able to buy an Ackfeld 12×14 single scroll stand at a recent quilt show to complete the gift.

My son-in-law could care less about quilts and always receives a check for his gift.  My daughter was very pleased with the table topper when I gave it to her on Sunday, October 14.

6 thoughts on “An Anniversary Table Topper

  1. I love that it’s a combination of your talents and your older daughter’s. That’s a wonderful little hanging and the scroll stand is beautiful – both simple and adding just a little elegant touch to the beautiful quiltlet.

  2. Oh, Lillian, what a sweet gift. This is something I know she will treasure.

    I love those little stands. I have two of these. One has the permanent fixture on the top and other can be switched out. I think these are great and you can make small toppers to give you a quick fix!

  3. What a beautiful quilt – the star shape is beautiful and the bouquet squares are really effective and add another dimension. I love seeing your daughter’s wedding photos. The dresses are very impressive! Abigail x

Leave a Reply

