Xmas 85-3
In 1990, my oldest daughter and I took a Christmas Market Tour in Austria and Germany.  The picture above is captioned, “Our favorite booth at Innsbruck”.  It was an amazing bus tour through Austria and Bavaria and it snowed heavily for the entire trip.  There was some white-knuckle bus riding on alpine roads like this one….

alpine rd-cropped - Copy
…and my daughter got this shot of me walking back to the pier at Herrenchiemsee.

back to the pier-cropped - Copy

This was typical of our daily walks through famous landmarks and tourist areas ….

Salzburg-cropped
My daughter in Salzburg

….and, of course, the wonderful Christmas markets.

Since that trip, my daughter has collected items for me that are reminiscent of our time there.  I have one shelf of Department 56 German houses and Christmas market booths.  There’s even a Krampus by the Biergarten.

mkt

mkt2
mkt3

Another shelf holds an array of small collectibles – an advent calendar, a music box, small cardboard foldouts, tins, boxes…
mkt7

mkt6
mkt4

My favorite is this tiny market my daughter made that has one-inch figures.

mkt5

I love to look at the little collection and remember a week in 1990 with blustery mountain roads, snow-packed sidewalks, Gluewein and huge pretzels at colorful crowded booths and a storybook Christmas on all sides.

Fröhliche Weihnachten