The Story Behind Mt. Shasta Cookies

IMG_3233
Last year, I posted a recipe for a favorite cookie I’ve been making for about 25 years – Mt. Shasta Cookies.  Last week, I received a comment from a lady who said her sister originated the recipe, won a contest with it, and should be given credit.  I totally agreed.  My source had been a newsletter that contained blue-ribbon winning recipes from all over the country and I’m sure the person who submitted it didn’t know the background either.  I posted an update on my blog and then on Christmas Day, I received this message from the cookie baker/contest winner herself:

Hello Lillian.

I am Linda McCready, and in 1958 I created the recipe for “Mt. Shasta Cookies”. I was the primary baker for my family of 10, and was constantly trying to come up with something different. This recipe began as a standard shortbread made with brown sugar and chopped walnuts. I love macaroons, so decided to try topping the cookies with macaroon mix. The result was such a huge hit that I spent many of my free hours making more and more … and more. The local newspaper carried Family Weekly magazine on Sundays, and one week they had a notice of a recipe contest for teenagers. I sent in the recipe and promptly forgot about it. Early in December of 1958 a man knocked on our door, introduced himself as a reporter for the Sacramento Union, and announced I had won the grand prize. My prize was a week-long stay in Chicago, over Christmas holidays, a slew of events such as plays, ballet, Ice Capades, museums etc. etc, and finally a gala luncheon with representatives of the food companies who advertised in Family Weekly. An amazing experience for a 15-year-old. Now I am 70, and still remember it clearly.
I am glad my recipe is still being used, and appreciate your sharing it with others.
Linda

Linda 1959 Newsp Class

Isn’t that a wonderful story! Now, I’m happy to share not only the recipe but the story behind this great cookie.

7 thoughts on “The Story Behind Mt. Shasta Cookies

  1. The story behind the creation of the cookie makes it even more interesting, I may have to give these a try, When we lived in Northern California we were 55 miles from Mt. Shasta.

  2. The creator of the cookie had sucha lovely story – I’m so glad you posted both because I am going to make some of those cookies for myself and mom’s new year’s eve afternoon tea (the ladies are generally asleep at midnight! and they will love it! Thanks Lillian!

Leave a Reply

