Addie-sofa

When I lost my 14-year-old hound, Rusty, a few weeks ago, I thought I would have to wait awhile before I could even consider another dog.  But my daughter and I were lonesome, it was much too quiet in the house and we agreed it might be well to think about getting another pet.  We support a rescue group in Cincinnati, Recycled Doggies, which takes dogs from rural shelters with a high kill rate, places them in foster homes and makes sure they are healthy and ready to go into a new home before they are offered for adoption.  Through Facebook, I watch the dogs come and go and when I saw a beagle/dachsund mix, female, 1-2 years old, arrive in town, I kept an eye on her and saw that she would be up for adoption at a big Furry Valentine event in our area this past weekend.  We were there when they opened the doors and I knew immediately, she was the dog for me.

163361_4265693002518_1060640657_n
She’s very shy and doesn’t seem to know any commands or even how to walk on a leash, but she’s eager to please and I know my daughter and I are going to enjoy having her share our home and our life.

307944_10151247213141491_1690816958_n
We named her Addie (thinking of the little girl in House Without a Christmas Tree and also in the movie, Paper Moon).   She enjoyed meeting the grandchildren on Sunday.

Josh
Although she doesn’t bark, it’s not nearly as quiet in the house now.

Addie-flr