cinco-top
Since I was a child, I’ve enjoyed a fried egg sandwich with salt, pepper and a bit of mustard on soft, white Wonder-type bread.  It’s even a good meal when I’m not feeling well if I omit the pepper and mustard.

I wanted to make an egg sandwich that was more substantial and put together a good one with a Mexican flair – just in time for Cinco de Mayo.  The cheese is available in my local grocery …
cinco-cheese

…and I enjoy the soft pretzel buns that my bakery carries.  Fry the egg the way you like it best – I like mine golden brown with the yolk fried hard.

CINCO DE MAYO EGG SANDWICH

  • Servings: One Sandwich
  • Print
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • ¼ cup sliced red bell pepper
  • ¼ cup sliced onion
  • Salt/pepper
  • 1 large soft bun
  • 1 egg
  • 1 oz. Mexican cheese in small slices
  • Several cilantro leaves

In a small skillet over medium low heat, heat olive oil and add the red pepper and onion slices.

cinco-1

Sprinkle lightly with salt/pepper and cook, stirring frequently, until vegetables are tender.  Remove vegetables from skillet and place on the bottom half of the bun.

cinco-2
In the same skillet, break the egg, stir the yolk with a fork, and cook until yolk is set.

cinco-3

Turn egg and cook on the opposite side until lightly browned.
cinco-4
Place egg on top of vegetables and immediately place cheese slices on top of egg.  Add several cilantro leaves on top of cheese.

cinco-5
Place top of bun on sandwich and serve immediately.  Delicioso! 


cinco-6