bbrhutop

I found the basic idea for this recipe several years ago, but changed it around quite a bit to make it easier to prepare and to use what I had on hand.  Other than 10 minutes or so it takes to slice the rhubarb (use thawed frozen rhubarb if you can find it), it’s very quick to make, delicious and a bit different from anything I’ve ever had before. The fig bars give it a unique flavor.

When I picked up the rhubarb at my local Meijer store, the young man at the checkout asked me what it was.  When I told him it was rhubarb, he asked, “Do you eat it like celery?”  I told him it was extremely tart and better cooked in a pie or dessert (like this one).

RHUBARB BLUEBERRY DELIGHT

  • 3 cups prepared fresh rhubarb (about one pound)*
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • ¼ cup water
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • 12 fig bars (Fig Newtons)
  • ½ to ¾ cup whipped topping, thawed (Cool Whip) or whipped cream

*Wash and dry rhubarb and cut down the center lengthwise if thick.  Cut into pieces approximately 1-½ inches long, removing tough skin and strings.

In a medium pan, combine rhubarb, sugar and water.  Bring to a boil over medium low heat.  Continue to cook for 10 more minutes, stirring occasionally, until rhubarb is tender and a sauce has formed.  Set aside to cool to room temperature.

Set our 4 dessert dishes.  I wanted to use my vintage two-handled bowls which measure about 1-½ inches deep x 4-¾ inches across the top.

bwlsize

In the bottom of each bowl, crumble one fig bar.

1st crumbs

Top with cooled rhubarb/sauce.  Crumble a fig bar over the top of the rhubarb.

2ndcrumbs

Add one tablespoon of whipped topping/cream.

1stcream
Sprinkle ¼ cup of blueberries over each serving.

blueb

Crumble a fig bar over the blueberries.  Top with one tablespoon of whipped topping/cream.

final4
Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes or until ready to serve.

Makes 4 servings 

rhbbsvg