futon-top

Wedding Dress Blue has an interesting quilt-along and tutorial for an easy version of the Lemoyne Star called Super Star that is fun and quick to put together.  Click here for her tutorial.  I have a large, deep-seated sofa that requires large cushions behind my back if my feet are going to touch the floor.  I had salvaged two large foam cushions from a discarded couch and the 16-inch star was perfect when I added some strips and additional half-squares to make the block larger.  I made the block for the front and back of each cushion and chose not to quilt the covers which will have to be laundered frequently.

futon-1

I used only scraps in these two cushion covers, including a large bag of white scraps I had bought last fall in Ohio Amish country.

futon2

futon3

I made a total of 80 half-squares that were 2-½ inches and for this many pieces, I turned to my Wonder Cut Ruler which made quick work of them.

futon4

I also used scraps for the side sections, cutting 6-inch wide strips of various lengths of fabric.
futon-sides

I had salvaged two long zippers from the original cushions and didn’t have to buy anything to complete the project.

futon-zipper

My dog, Addie, wondered when I was going to be finished taking pictures so I could fill her dinner bowl and also when I was going to get out of the way so she could get back to her favorite spot on the couch.

Best-060113