IMG_0323

In 1986, I was living with my husband and youngest daughter in Blue Jay, Ohio, on the Indiana border.  My husband had a huge garden and lots of cucumbers.  This was one of a long list of recipes for pickles that I used.  I was still working full time and commuting an hour each way, so this one was good because it used a lot of cucumbers and made up quickly.  I could get a batch made up after supper and they could be used within 4-5 days.   This recipe is from my bible at the time – Pickles & Relishes – 150 Recipes – Apples to Zucchini.

IMG_0332

LOW-SALT REFRIGERATOR PICKLES

  • 3 qts thinly sliced cucumbers
  • 3 medium size onions, sliced thinly
  • 4 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 cups cider vinegar
  • ½ tsp pickling salt (optional)
  • 1-1/3 tsp turmeric
  • 1-1/3 tsp celery seeds
  • 1-1/3 tsp mustard seeds

IMG_0333

IMG_0316

Layer cucumbers and onions in a jar, packing tightly.  Combine remaining ingredients and stir to dissolve the sugar.  Pour the syrup over the cucumbers and cover tightly.  Refrigerate for 4-5 days before using.

Keep these pickles refrigerated.  You can add to the mixture whenever you have more cucumbers.

Yield:  3 quarts

IMG_0325