ham-top
We completed the last of the once-a-week vacation days that my daughter and I have enjoyed this month.  I’ve had medical problems the past year that have been manageable as far as going out for lunch or dinner, but have not allowed me to stand and walk long enough to browse through antique shops.  Since I’m better, this is what I chose for our annual fall vacation.  Fortunately, my daughter also loves antique shops and has patiently been the driver and dining companion.  For the last day, I chose a location that is about an hour from our home – Waynesville, Ohio.  The village was founded in 1797 and was an important Quaker settlement.  There are still over 200 historic homes, most of them in the shopping area of several blocks and side streets.  We stopped for lunch at the Hammel House Inn which was built in 1799.  The original brick walls are still visible and the fireplace is homey and charming.

hamfirepl
Our table was near an open window where we could look out onto the long front porch.

ham-window
We had a lovely lunch.  I chose the English Grille.  The salad with strawberries was especially delicious.
ham-l

ham-lunch-l

My daughter ordered a Reuben sandwich and the cheerful and efficient waitress took our picture.

ham-ln
We don’t usually have dessert, but couldn’t resist some really good quality vanilla ice cream with just a drizzle of chocolate, pecans and whipped cream.

ham-dessert
In just a two-block area, we visited three antique stores.  The Olde Curiosity Shoppe is one of our favorites.
ham-ant
I found three items to add to my collection – a baking dish and pitcher with the poppy motif that I love and a Roseville bud vase in the freesia pattern which was reduced in price because of a chip that I didn’t mind at all.

poppyplt

poppypitch

freesiabud
There’s also a great quilt shop, Fabric Shack, which is familiar to a lot of my quilting friends around the country because of their excellent online service.

ham-fabric

On the way home, we stopped off at a farm market called Hidden Valley to check out their very well stocked rustic store.
hid-entry
There were even a few animals to see…

hid-sheep
…and we bought some fudge and cookies to take home.

I’m glad that my daughter and I were able to share these days and enjoy so many beautiful things that southwest Ohio has to offer.

Click on pictures to enlarge