fritote-top

Every Friday, I prepare 4 lunches.  I leave one lunch on the kitchen table for my daughter who lives with me and take the other 3 lunches to my youngest daughter’s house, about 10 minutes away.  I bring two plates for our lunch plus an extra for her to enjoy later.  I used to pack everything in a big old-fashioned metal lunch basket, but I’m limited now in what I can carry, so I thought it might be nice to have a sturdy fabric tote to carry my lunch plates.  I measured the plates I use (about 9 inches) and sewed together a fabric box 10 x 10 x 7 inches along with a lid with Velcro fasteners.  The lining is made from some heavy cotton duck material that was leftover from a previous project.
fritote-lid
The fabric for the outside of the box has special meaning for me.  A couple of years ago, a blogger friend (who passed away in 2012), sent me a beautiful apron in pretty fall colors just in time for Thanksgiving.  I use aprons all the time, so this one was starting to show some wear.  I couldn’t bear to part with it and had the idea to use it as the fabric for my tote.  It worked out perfectly with even the ties working exactly as I wanted them for the handle.

tie

I left the pocket intact and used it for one side panel to hold napkins and flat ware.
fritote-fork

I’m off to my daughter’s house today with one of her favorite dishes, Black-Eyed Peas and Chicken Curry.

fritote-dish

The three serving plates will be covered in foil and then placed on three plastic racks which will keep them separate inside the tote.

fritote-foil

I also made some apple dumplings which will be transported in a small insulated carrier that I reserve for desserts.  For the short distance I have to travel, the meals usually stay hot but can also be popped into the microwave for a quick warm-up.

Looking forward to a nice afternoon of visiting with the two dogs and two cats and chatting while my daughter knits.  I wait until 3 PM to give a quick wave to my high school freshman grandson as he gets off the school bus, then it’s time to head home for supper.