My youngest daughter  keeps me supplied with beautiful hand-knitted socks …

socksoles-all

…but occasionally, the yarn is too heavy to fit comfortably in my shoes.  Then, they become wonderful sock slippers to wear in the evening while I’m watching TV or reading.  To protect the soles of the socks and provide better traction when walking, I was looking for something to add to the bottoms and thought about using foam inner soles.  They work perfectly.  They are lightweight, easy to sew, economical and wear well with light use.

socksoles-soles

I used three strands of embroidery floss and whip-stitched the soles in place about ¼ inch apart.

socksoles-sewn

The sock is easy to stitch by placing it over one hand and stitching with the other, but if you happen to have one of these gadgets for helping to put on socks, that works even better.

socksoles-gadget

This would also work well for socks that have developed a worn place on the bottom and allow more wearing and enjoying time for these hand-knit beauties.

socksoles-top