5scotties-top

I  have so many wonderful collectibles acquired over the last 80+ years.  Some were gifts, some were part of my life growing up, some were inherited, some were purchased at antique malls, gift shops or thrift stores  – all are precious to me.  Some items are kept up year-around while others are brought out seasonally and on holidays.  Unfortunately, many priceless-to-me objects go undisplayed and unseen for years, so each week, I’m going to pull out an item and post a COLLECTIBLE OF THE WEEK.

To begin my weekly collectibles posts, I’m going to start with the last one I received.  My daughters and two grandchildren spent last week in Washington, DC, and brought back this wonderful little stuffed Scottie dog from the White House gift shop.  It’s named Fala after the Scottie that President Roosevelt had in the 1930s-40s and one of the reasons I’ve always been attracted to Scottie dogs.

Fala

During my childhood, there were Scotties on everything – clothing, decorative items, toys, linens, etc.  I’ve never owned a Scottie dog but love them as they’ve been represented through the years.

I already had a shelf full of stuffed Scotties from previous years and brought them down to dust off, photograph and feature.

Scottie in kilt (bought at a Celtic festival 15 years ago),  Yomiko Classics large Scottie with shaggy hair and soulful eyes, (birthday gift ca 1990s)

Scottie in kilt (bought at a Celtic festival 15 years ago), Yomiko Classics large Scottie with shaggy hair and soulful eyes, (birthday gift ca 1990s)

 

Small Scottie with Mary Engelbreit tag (bought at the Mary Engelbreit store in St. Louis ca 1980s), large Scottie (a birthday gift ca 1990)

Small Scottie with Mary Engelbreit tag (bought at the Mary Engelbreit store in St. Louis ca 1980s), large Scottie (a birthday gift ca 1990)

I feel happier whenever I look at one of these wee bonny pups.