IMG_3312

For many years, my daughter and I traveled to Holmes County, Ohio, to spend several days in Amish Country.  I can’t travel too much any more and we have been taking one day a week during September to visit an area that is not too far away.  This week, we decided to drive about an hour and a half to a small Amish community in Adams County.  It was well worth the driving time and, in fact, the drive was a really enjoyable part of the day.

We started off the day with brunch at a Cracker Barrel in nearby Milford, Ohio.  I recommend the pecan pancakes but unless you have a hearty appetite, order just two pancakes – not three as I did.  They are huge!

crackerbrl (3)

We wanted to visit Miller’s Amish store in West Union and I was especially anxious to shop in the Bulk Foods building.  I bought some hard-to-find items along with pumpkin fudge to eat on the way home.

IMG_3311 - Copy

They have a large selection of furniture and I especially liked this glider with the morning glories.  My daughter said it was very comfortable.

IMG_3321

My daughter loves to travel the back roads and we passed many houses with the familiar Amish clothing drying on clothes lines and an occasional buggy.  We also passed one buggy on the road, trying to contend with automobile traffic on a bridge.  These horses were beautiful but kept their heads hidden behind a fence.

IMG_3313

This was one of the back roads we traveled with no traffic at all.

IMG_3316

We were able to cross over a perfect covered bridge.

IMG_3318

To me, it was a condensed trip to Amish country with everything we wanted to see, only there was less of it.  A very successful staycation day.

Adams_field02