eastermug (4)

Red Brolly is offering a free pattern for a really cute, easy-to-make mug carrier and mug rug.  http://www.red-brolly.com/2015/03/butterfly-mug-bag-have-you-made-yours/

Update 9/20/15 – A reader let me know that there is a problem with the above link and sent me some alternate ones for the pattern itself.  She said these links are intermittent but she was able to get a printout of the pattern.

The bag is designed to hold a medium sized mug about 6 inches tall x 3 inches diameter …

eastermug (10)
and has a pocket for some teabags.

eastermug (3)

eastermug (5)
There is an accompanying mug rug which folds up in back of the mug bag.

eastermug (9)
I have made four versions of the bag to use as gifts.  I made this one as an Easter gift for my granddaughter.

eastermug (2)

The fabric is from scraps of an Easter dress I made for her in 2011, back before she became a sophisticated going-on-12 lady who doesn’t wear pretty lace-trimmed dresses any more.

11068065_10203699635673366_1756190618_o

Instead of a mug, I’m using an 8-oz jar of jelly beans in the bag and will be putting a gift card in the pocket.

eastermug (1)

For my two daughters, I’ll have the mugs filled with candy and will have gift cards in the pocket.
eastermug (8)
I made one bag/rug to have ready to give to a good friend from Chicago who visits during the summer.
eastermug (6)
In her case, I made an embroidered mug rug that shows a painter because she’s a gifted artist.

eastermug (7)
I enjoyed making these bags and rugs out of scraps, including using up a lot of small batting pieces.  I included a snap and vintage button on each one.  It’s a pleasant afternoon’s project with just a bit of hand sewing.

Red Brolly’s post has some beautiful bags made from her pattern by other readers.

Click on pictures to enlarge.