knit (3)

I’ve tried knitting in the past without success and without one finished object, but have been looking for another hobby since my quilting is limited now because of back problems to small wall hangings and similar projects.  My younger daughter is an expert knitter and keeps me well supplied with socks, scarves, hats, mittens and beautiful shawls….two of the most recent ones…

Dec 27 15 (2)

12642683_10205455668973101_7027919917522957382_n

From past experience, I didn’t feel I could ever make such beautiful things, but I was inspired by her work for various charities and hoped I might be able to make some of these simple items.  For Christmas, I asked her for some very general knitting supplies to get started and she gave me a wonderful reproduction bag from WW II England filled with yarn, needles, patterns and instructions.

knit (1)

The bag commemorates all of the knitting the women of Great Britain did during the war.  The Women’s Volunteer Service pin is actually one from the era, which my daughter ordered from England.

knit (2)

The day after Christmas, I started reading through the instructions, checking out the online links (YouTube is great), and started a child’s scarf.  During the month of January, I completed four children’s scarves for Scarf It Up in Northern Kentucky.  They collect scarves for underprivileged/homeless adults and children….

007

…and three adult scarves for Knit Your Bit.  This group collects adult scarves starting in September that they hand out on Veteran’s Day to vets visiting the National World  War II Museum in New Orleans.  Red, white and blue scarves are the most popular.

vets116

Amazingly, I’m able to relax and knit comfortably and, even better, I actually complete what I started.  Thank you, daughter, for a wonderful gift and a new obsession.