stn

On December 6th, our family celebrates St.Nicholas with the exchange of small gifts, candy and homemade cookies.  This year, my two daughters will receive dorm boots/slippers instead of stockings.  I found a wonderful pattern on Needle Beetle called Aunt Alm’s Dorm Boots.

http://www.needlebeetle.com/free/aadb.html

Instructions are given for various sizes and I started out making children’s slippers for the Pine Ridge Lakota children in South Dakota.  Their Sacred Shawl project which helps young mothers and children in abusive situations, particularly asked for warm slippers for their very cold winters.

http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/for-the-children-of-pine-ridge/3293728/1026-1050#1050

3dorm

I consider them suitable knitting for an advanced beginner and made two more sets for my daughters.  I made these with Lion Brand Wool-Ease (80% acrylic, 20% wool) which makes them easy to wash and dry.  I tried one on to be sure they were close to the size I wanted.

aunt-alm-dorm-2

The ssk stitch (slip, slip, knit) forms the “V” shape on the front of the sock, which I like a lot.  See the YouTube link below for a tutorial on this stitch.  The pattern is written for double-pointed needles but I work better with circular needles and I found the pattern easy to adapt and the slippers easy to knit.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save