Knitting – Natl. Defense Service Stripe Scarf – Free Pattern

When I decided to learn to knit in January of 2016, I was interested in making easy, practical items for several charities.  One of them was Knit Your Bit for the National WWII Museum in New Orleans.  All of the information is here:

http://www.nationalww2museum.org/learn/knit-your-bit/how-to-participate.html

In addition to information, there are patterns on this site to use to both knit and crochet scarves.  I knew from my daughter’s experiences from past years that red, white and blue scarves were very popular and that is what I’ve been making.

Recently, though, on the Knit Your Bit Facebook page, I found a pattern for a scarf that has the colors and designs of a National Defense Service Medal.  This medal is a decoration presented to recognize all military members who have served in active duty during a declared “national emergency”.  It is an easy garter stitch striped scarf and interesting with the addition of bright yellow.

To find this pattern, go to the Knit Your Bits Facebook page and search for National Defense Service Stripe Scarf to get the free pattern for a scarf 6 inches wide x 71 inches long, knitted in worsted yarn with size 9 or 10 needles.  Nice item to donate to the museum’s program or to give to your favorite veteran.

Save

Published by

quilt32

Lillian Applegate Westfelt was a mother of 4, grandmother of 6, and great-grandmother of 3. She was an 86-year-old widow living in a nice little bungalow with her oldest daughter and a beagle-dachsund named Addie. She passed away in November, 2018.

7 thoughts on “Knitting – Natl. Defense Service Stripe Scarf – Free Pattern”

  1. I have one of those ribbons somewhere – Vietnam. We called it Alive in 65 ribbon. LOL I love what you’ve knitted. So are you donating it to the museum group?

    1. Yes, Susan, I’ll donate this one along along with others I make this year. When my daughter and I fill a box, we send it on.

  2. Thanks for another great article. The place else could anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect means of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the look for such information.

Leave a comment