Last week, I found some bargains which will help me out with my knitting.  First, a book from a library used book sale for only $4.00.  I figure if I can find one pattern or technique that I like in a book, it’s worth buying.  I’ve already found one very good pattern and there are 43 more to audition.  I particularly liked a pattern for a hooded scarf.

The other bargain was at a Goodwill thrift store where I bought a huge container of acrylic yarn for $10.00.  There was one skein each of a large assortment of colors.  This is good for me because I knit a lot of small items like hats, scarves and mittens for charity.  The hooded scarf pattern called for #4 worsted yarn and #8 needles for a child’s size scarf.  I used #10 needles with the yarn and added a few rows to make it suitable for an adult.  I had a nice variety of acrylic yarn to choose from.

Using the same pattern and needles with worsted yarn, I made a version with a short scarf that buttons in front.


I’m currently working on another long-scarf version, using some more of the bargain yarn.

I still have a lot of yarn and a lot of patterns to use.

The real bargain in the large container of yarn was hidden until I got it home and started sorting it out.  There were 8 two-oz. unopened skeins of this yarn in a beautiful dusky blue-violet color.

I checked on the company web site and this wool yarn sells for $16 a skein!  I gathered it up and gave it to my younger daughter, an experienced and excellent knitter who will make good use of such a great bargain.