I just realized my 10 year blog anniversary was on September 16 with this post about pumpkin pie. I started quilting when I was 70, started the blog when I was 75 and started knitting at age 83. Of course, I’ve been cooking for decades and the blog has been a good way to remember old favorites and to meet new people. Thank you to everyone who has read my posts. It’s been such fun.

Lillian's Cupboard

pumpkinbowl.jpg

A PERFECT DAY FOR PUMPKIN PIE

This September Sunday morning is cool, crisp and autumn-like with trees starting to show color and fall decorations beginning to appear on front doors.  It’s a perfect day for pumpkin pie.  My recipe is pretty much standard except for a few variations in spices.  I heard Garrison Keillor quote one of his radio characters, saying,  “The best pumpkin pie you ever tasted isn’t that much better than the worst,” but I don’t agree.  Homemade pumpkin pies are really good and a super-easy pie to make.  I prefer to make my pie crust but certainly frozen ones are available.



pumpkin072.jpg


View original post