Harvest Relish (One Quart)

toppixExactly 14 years ago today, September 7, 1995, I made this relish for the first time, making a big batch so I could use up some more of the tomatoes and cucumbers my husband was continually hauling into the house from the garden in a big oversized wicker basket.  We had to leave our big garden behind over 8 years ago when my husband was very ill with Alzheimer’s and he passed away 5 years ago.  So, today on the anniversary of the first try at this recipe, I made a quart of this relish for myself and for my daughter when she visits.  We especially like it served alongside grilled pork tenderloin.  The recipe is from the book, The Forgotten Art of Making Old Fashioned Pickles.

HARVEST RELISH

  • 2 cups cucumber, peeled, seeded and ground
  • 2 cups tomato, peeled and chopped (prefer Roma)
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 1-1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1-1/2 cups white vinegar
  • 1-1/2 tsp. Chinese mustard
  • 1-1/4 Tblsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground red pepper

Place cucumber, tomato and onion in a large pot.  Add sugar and vinegar, stir to blend and cook until vegetables are tender – 20-25 minutes.

pot

In a small bowl, mix together the mustard, flour and turmeric.  Stir into the cooked vegetable mixture, reduce heat to low and simmer for 25-30 minutes until mixture has thickened.

Add salt and pepper, mixing well.  Pour into sterilized jars, cap and process in a boiling water bath for 20 minutes (for pint and half-pint jars).

ladle

Yield:  One quart (2 pints) 

3jars

Published by

quilt32

Lillian Applegate Westfelt was a mother of 4, grandmother of 6, and great-grandmother of 3. She was an 86-year-old widow living in a nice little bungalow with her oldest daughter and a beagle-dachsund named Addie. She passed away in November, 2018.

One thought on “Harvest Relish (One Quart)”

  1. Hello! I love your blog.

    I am born and raised in the Cinti area…..my parents too, who now live in Southern CA. My grandmother is from Germany, and then raised in Cinti from the age of 9. She is gone now, but some of the recipes and memories you talk about, remind me of her.

    I now live in Butler Co, almost into Indiana on the way to Brookville. You mentioned the Blue Jay area – where my husband’s uncle lives…..many places you mention, I know of. Thanks for writing and sharing in your blog!

Leave a comment