A Red Linus Quilt

redquilt.jpg 

Each year I donate at least 3 quilts to our local Linus Project, which distributes quilts to hospitals to give to seriously ill children.  My first one this year is made with red scraps using the Economy 2 block in my EQ6 software.   Because these quilts have to be laundered frequently, we’re encouraged to use simple blocks and I notice what my 4-year-old granddaughter likes in my quilts and use those ideas in the Linus projects.  This one has bright colors and a variety of block themes.   The quilt is 45×70 inches and I was thinking about an older girl – maybe 8 to 10 years old – as I made the quilt.  The nurses at the hospitals choose the quilt to go to a particular child.  The first row contains scottie fabric….

rescottie.jpg

The second row has different kinds of fruit….

redfruit.jpg

The third row shows some funny ladies doing housework….

redwomen1.jpg

The fourth row contains cute cats….

redcat.jpg

The fifth row has some miscellaneous blocks.

redmisc.jpg

The backing is a red print.

redback.jpg

When I take this quilt to our distribution center, I’ll also be taking along three beautiful crocheted afghans my daughter made.  In each case she used a heart pattern.

sbpinkblu.jpg

sbpink.jpg

sbpinkwh.jpg

We like to think that four children will enjoy snuggling with our pieces.

Published by

quilt32

Lillian Applegate Westfelt was a mother of 4, grandmother of 6, and great-grandmother of 3. She was an 86-year-old widow living in a nice little bungalow with her oldest daughter and a beagle-dachsund named Addie. She passed away in November, 2018.

One thought on “A Red Linus Quilt”

Leave a comment