firstsnow012107.jpg

Normally on Saturdays, my two daughters, grandchildren and I go to a nice restaurant for lunch and then on to shopping or some kid-friendly event.  This Saturday morning, though, it was snowing heavily with the promise/threat of rain, sleet, and more snow.  So, the older daughter and I are here alone today and I made my traditional snowy-day potato soup for lunch.  This soup is quite thick – more like a chowder.   I tend to make it when I’m snowed in for its comfort food quality and because the recipe calls for ingredients that I normally have on hand.

souppot.jpg

Snowy-Day Potato Soup

  • 3 cups of diced potatoes
  • 1 cup of chopped onion
  • 1 cup grated cheese (I’ve used cheddar, colby and swiss – whatever you have on hand)
  • 1 cup of milk
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • A dash of nutmeg

Cover the potatoes and onions with water and cook until tender.  Drain off the water, leaving the vegetables in the pan.  Mash, leaving some of the potatoes in chunks.  Add grated cheese, milk, salt and freshly ground black pepper (to taste).  Heat until hot but not boiling.  Pour into bowls and grate a little fresh nutmeg on top of the soup.

Serve with a nice homemade roll.

 potsouproll.jpg

For dessert I made Nutty Nutmeg Bars (see recipe here).

  nutmegbars.jpg

Everything tasted good and almost made up for not getting to go out for lunch.