On July 13, 2012, my two daughters surprised me with a big box of wrapped gifts, informing me it was exactly 80 days until my 80th birthday and I would be able to unwrap one gift a day.  The gift items would commemorate a year in my life in some way.  This is what I received this week.


1982 – A 1982 tin featuring the cartoon character Cathy.  This was one of my favorite newspaper cartoons in the 1980s.  I related to her in several ways – certainly in her love for chocolate.


1983 – My youngest daughter knitted two beautiful place mats from a pattern in the July, 1983 issue of The Workbasket – in my favorite color.


1984 – A darling little maple syrup tin produced by the New England Container Co., Swanton, Vermont in 1984.


1985 – My oldest daughter used a 1985 Dale Burdett cross-stitch kit to make a Christmas ornament and added “1985” to it.


On the back is a picture she clipped from a home movie of my husband and me decorating the tree in 1985.  She scanned it onto fabric and it became the backing for the ornament.


1986 – Two of the famous California Raisin figures.  Who could forget their great commercials?


1987 – A September, 1987, edition of MAD magazine featuring articles on The Andy Griffith Show, Crocodile Dundee, Pee-Wee Herman and much more.

1988 – A 1988 Cincinnati Reds Media Guide with every fact about every Reds player and Reds team in history in a compact guide book.  An added bonus – a postcard showing the Greater Cincinnati Bicentennial quilt – Cincinnati 1788-1988.

All of my posts on this wonderful celebration are listed in Family – My 80th Birthday in my index on the right hand side of the page.