3-Bean Chicken Dip

 

During the summer, I take full advantage of a local farm market which carries wonderful bi-color corn from Indiana.  We have buttered corn-on-the-cob every Sunday and I try to serve something as an entree that won’t be too filling.  I make a Texas Caviar dip which everybody likes, but my older daughter requested one that uses less sugar/oil, no corn (since we were  having the fresh version) and includes chicken.  I couldn’t find anything like this online and adapted my Texas Caviar  to fit the bill.

3-Bean Chicken Dip

  • Servings: Approximately 5 cups of dip - 6 servings
  • Print

Marinade:
½ cup cider vinegar
2 Tblsp. granulated sugar
½ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. black pepper
1/3 cup light olive oil

Place vinegar and sugar in small saucepan over medium heat. Cook until sugar is dissolved; remove from heat, add salt/pepper and oil. Set aside to cool.

Dip Ingredients:
One 15 oz. can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
One 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
One 15 oz. can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup fresh tomato, chopped into bean-size pieces
1 cup cooked chicken breast, chopped into bean-size pieces
2 Tblsp. fresh cilantro leaves, snipped into small pieces

Tostidos Scoops or tortilla chips. Chips should be sturdy enough to hold the dip.

Optional: I serve this along with a bowl of chopped onions and a shaker of cayenne pepper for those who want to add them (I do).

Mix dip ingredients in a large bowl and pour marinade over. Toss gently to mix and refrigerate at least 2 hours (up to 24 hours, adding the chicken and tomato pieces during the last 2 hours).

Serve cold dip with dippers.

This dip along with corn-on-the-cob and fresh fruit pie = a great summertime meal.

 

Published by

quilt32

Lillian Applegate Westfelt was a mother of 4, grandmother of 6, and great-grandmother of 3. She was an 86-year-old widow living in a nice little bungalow with her oldest daughter and a beagle-dachsund named Addie. She passed away in November, 2018.

6 thoughts on “3-Bean Chicken Dip”

  1. I am so going to try this within the next few days. I happened to get a can of chicken chunks at the store AND we have cans of beans that need to be used up. I’m not a fan of cilantro so I’ll leave that out but otherwise, this looks like a keeper!

  2. Every time I come over here, I wind up hungry! LOL This sounds delicious, and the actual making is fast, I just have to think ahead. Thanks for sharing this one. I’d probably have it with white corn, if I could find any. I miss Jersey white corn.

Leave a comment